Applying for AfN Course Certification

AfN launched a certification scheme in 2012 with the aim of improving knowledge on nutrition in the wider workforce. Initially created for the Health & Social Care Sector, this was extended in 2016 to also provide certification for courses for those working or volunteering within catering or the fitness and leisure sectors. AfN delivered the scheme by assessing and approving courses and events that provided evidenced based training that met our ethical, scientific and quality standards, to people working in occupations connected to food. AfN has defined three frameworks against which courses and events have and can be assessed against.

Scheme Review

To ensure that our course certification scheme continues to operate effectively and meets its primary aim, we have been conducting a review of the scheme. As part of the review, revisions are being made to our course certification scheme frameworks, standards and processes.

Revised Scheme

The revised standards are being piloted in a phased approach across the framework sectors. As each framework relaunched, applications for approval or re-approval are considered under the new standards.

Courses Certified Under Previous Certification Scheme

Courses that hold current certified course status with AfN will continue to be certified, subject to annual renewals, until their certification expires.

Courses that fell due for resubmission during the review period (as part of the periodic review process) will have their current approval extended until 6-months following launch of the revised scheme for their framework (fitness & leisure, catering or health & social care).

Courses certified prior to 2022 will not be eligible for the awarding of AfN Certificates, due to differences in the frameworks, standards and procedures.

Following a review of the course certification scheme, we are piloting an amended scheme and are welcoming applications from courses designed for those working or volunteering within the fitness and leisure sector, the catering sector or the health and social care sector.


Please scroll down for information on the three different certification frameworks.

Application forms and additional info