Honorary Fellows of AfN (Hon FAfN)
Honorary Fellowship is awarded to distinguished individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the AfN, nutrition and professional regulation in their broadest sense: its science, promotion and administration; its role in promoting healthier individuals and communities; its growing professionalisation and its role in the education of the public and future nutritionists.

AfN awarded the first Honorary Fellowships in September 2012, marking our aim to link with those who continue to provide leadership to the profession.  The lifetime honour allows recipients to use the initials Hon FAfN after their name.

The Honorary Fellows of the Association for Nutrition are:

Lord Krebs
Hon FAfN
John Richard Krebs, Baron Krebs FRS is the Principal of Jesus College, Oxford University.  He was knighted in 1999 and the first Chairman of the British Food Standards Agency from 2000 to 2005. Lord Krebs was created a life peer in 2007 and sits in the House of Lords as an independent cross-bencher.  He is Chairman of the House of Lords Science and Technology Select Committee, a Trustee of the Nuffield Foundation, Chairman of the UK Science and Technology Honours Committee and Chairman of the Royal Society's Science Policy Advisory Group. He also sits on the UK Climate Change Committee and chairs its Adaptation Sub-Committee. His speciality is ornithology and his publications include more than 130 referenced papers, 5 books and 130 book chapters, reviews or popular pieces. Lord Krebs was a member of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics 2006-2007 and chaired the Working Party on Public Health 2006-07.
Lord Selborne
Hon FAfN
Lord Selborne was a member of the Apple and Pear Development Council between 1969-73. He was Chairman of the Hops Marketing Board from 1978-82, of the Agricultural and Food Research Council (AFRC) from 1982-89 and of the Joint Nature Conservation Committee (JNCC) from 1991-97. He was also a member of the NEDC Food Sector Group in 1991-92 and a member of the Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution 1993-1998. Lord Selborne was President of the Royal Agricultural Society of England from 1987-88, of the Royal Institute of Public Health and Hygiene from 1991-1997 and of the Royal Geographical Society from 1997-2000. He was Chairman of the Trustees of the Royal Botanic Gardens in Kew. He is also a Fellow of the Linnean Society and the Institute of Biology and Patron of the Institute of Ecology and Environmental Management. Lord Selborne was appointed Knight Commander of the Order of the British Empire (KBE) in 1987 and Knight Grand Cross of the Order of the British Empire (GBE) in the 2011 New Year Honours for services to science.   
Prof Philip James
Hon FAfN
Professor James began his career as a clinical researcher with the MRC Unit in Tropical Metabolism, Jamaica.  He has been a senior lecturer at the London School of Hygiene, ran the Dunn Clinical Nutrition Centre,1974-1982, and was Director of the Rowett Research Institute,1982-1999. Professor James chaired and wrote the first public health nutrition policy reports for Scotland, policy reports for the UK,  chaired and wrote reports for WHO Europe (1986) and then the WHO 797 report on diet and public health for malnourished and chronic disease prone countries (1990).  

Professor James established the International Obesity Task Force (IOTF) in 1996 and was responsible for drafting the first WHO Technical Report (2000) on prevention and management of obesity.  He was highly influential in creation of the UK Food Standards Agency, the EU Directorate-General for Health and Consumers (DG SANCO) and then the EU Food Standards Agency. Philip James chaired and wrote the UN Commission’s report on global issues in nutrition, has been Vice President of the International Union of Nutritional Sciences and is currently President of the International Association for the Study of Obesity.
Presidents of the
Nutrition Society
Prior to 2012
At the heart of the Association for Nutrition is the UK Voluntary Register of Nutritionists (UKVRN). This began as the Register of Public Health Nutritionists established by the Institute of Biology in the early 1980s, before moving to the Nutrition Society.  It was through the determination and support of successive Nutrition Society Presidents that the UKVRN was nurtured, in often difficult circumstances, and the Association for Nutrition founded.  By offering Honorary Fellowships to Presidents of the Nutrition Society from during this period, we thank those who assisted us in the transition to grow in stature and recognition. 

Professor Michael Gibney Hon FAfN
Professor Ian MacDonald RNutr Hon FAfN
Professor John Mathers  Hon FAfN
Dr Ann Prentice RNutr FAfN Hon FAfN
Professor A John F Webster Hon FAfN
Dr Roger Whitehead Hon FAfN
Professor Christine Williams RNutr Hon FAfN


Registrant Login

Log In

If you are a UKVRN registrant but have not created an online account, please click here to set up your username and password

If you have forgotten your username or password, please click here to be sent a reminder.